Department of Education Learners First
Department of Education - Learners First
Slider Image One


Staff Intranet

School Improvement Team
The Executive consists of the Principal, Duncan Groves, Co-Principal/Assistant Principal Erika Boas, Assistant Principals Tim Hortle and Stephanie Johnson and Business Manager, Gail Reeves. SIP meets regularly to set strategic direction for the school in areas such as the School Plan and budget, professional learning, school policies, Senior and Middle School matters, communications, maintenance, and school activities.

The Leadership Team
The Leadership Team consists of the Executive and ASTs – Jill Alexander, Cameron Gluskie, Mandy Maree, Katrina Rudolf and Acting ASTs – Matt Rice, Bree Everett (0.5), Sam Crust (0.5) plus Bronte Anderson (0.5). Responsibilities relate to ensuring strategies are put in place to address school goals in each team in the organisation map, and to discuss and review school policies and activities and make recommendations to SIP.

Curriculum and Literacy and Numeracy Teams
Each Curriculum Area has a Curriculum Area Leader, CAL, who co-ordinates collaboration between team members to develop scope and sequence documents and learning sequences, and facilitates moderation of assessment, based on the Australian Curriculum. Erika Boas leads the team of CALs. CALs meet regularly to discuss ways to improve in curriculum, teaching and learning and pedagogy. All teachers are members of at least one of these teams. Teams meet weekly for collaborative planning and professional learning. The Leaders of these teams are: English – Bronte Anderson, HASS – Wendy Frost, Health and Physical Education – Damien Martin, LOTE – Camellia Cseko, Mathematics – Megan Williamson, Science – Penny Ackroyd, Design Technologies – Georgie Roberts, Digital Technologies – Tim Hortle and The Arts – Cass Wilson. Students are supported to improve literacy and numeracy outcomes within the curriculum and teaching and learning program. There are also interventions in place provided by nominated teaching staff, to support targeted students. Bronte Anderson is a Literacy Coach for teachers and also has responsibility for Literacy, and Katrina Rudolf is the coach in the Middle School for Numeracy.

Middle and Senior School Teams
Students in Years 7 and 8 are in the Middle School with grade based Home Groups. Students in Years 9 and 10 are in the Senior School with grade based Home Groups and 3 combined 9/10 Home Groups in Big Picture, as well as some students assigned to ConnectED. The Home Group program focuses on wellbeing of students, positive behaviour support and the MyEducation/Work Studies curriculum. Erika Boas is Head of Teaching and Learning and Stephanie Johnson is Head of the Middle School, Tim Hortle, Head of the Senior School. Katrina Rudolf and Cameron Gluskie are in charge of Big Picture. The Grade Co-ordinators are Mandy Maree - Year 7, Matt Rice - Year 8, Bree Everett - Year 9, Jill Alexander - Year 10, and Cameron Gluskie – Big Picture Year 9 and 10.

228 New Town Road
New Town TAS 7008

Phone: 03 6228 8800